Posted by: jeanmurin | July 6, 2009

Poking Fun at Media and Politics

After in-depth discussions about The Daily Show and The Colbert Report, I feel like I would be doing everyone a disservice if I didn’t share one of my favorite websites. I’m sure a lot of you have seen it, but the Onion News Network does a fantastic job of making light of news networks, journalism and politics. 

Like someone said in class, I think you need to have a certain level of political awareness and knowledge about the media to understand the humor and find it funny (not saying that if you don’t find it funny you’re not politically aware!), which is why I don’t think shows or websites like The Daily Show or the Onion News Network are detrimental to political participation. 

Click through the site and enjoy, but in the meantime here is one of my personal favorites:

http://www.theonion.com/content/video/today_now_how_to_pretend_you_give

Leave a Reply

Categories

