Posted by: edgarvasiliu | August 6, 2009

Selective Media = Distorted Reality?

When Graber showed the Bush Press Conference on Social Security (page 268-270) and how they basically ignored the topic and molded it to what the journalists wanted, out of 21 questions only 3 were on topic, it reminds me of how Obama’s recent Press Conference on Healthcare was recently mangled. The circumstances were different in the sense that the majority of questions were on topic however the last question was about the Henry Gates incident. This last question/answer got the most media attention post conference which is obviously completely off topic.

Get it? Its a distortion of Hope. Eh, I know. The best image I could get.

Get it? Its a distortion of Hope. Eh, I know. The best image I could find.

Its interesting to see how a President is at the mercy of journalists. They can portray him in a certain light so easily. The mirror model is I suppose impossible but to have the mirror out of focus is another thing altogether. It makes me question what I see and read if it is an accurate reality even if I go news junkie. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

Categories

